Write a short text about yourself and your family.


Answer the questions.

What is your name?

How old are you?

Where do you live?

When/Where were you born?

Are you married?

Tell me about your family.

How many people are there in your family?

Have you got any pets?

What do you look like?

How tall are you?

What colour are your eyes?

What are you like?

How are you?

When/Where did you go to school?

Who is your favourite singer?

What is your favourite film?


Complete your fact file.

Full name  
Hair colour  
Favourite bands  
Favourite clothes  
Favourite films  
Favourite foods  

Understanding a questionnaire

Read the information in questionnaire and complete the description of Jenny Chan.

FRIENDS AROUND THE WORLD GENERAL INFORMATION Name: Jenny Chan Age: 16 Nationality: Malaysian Address: 18 Jalan Nyamuk, Seremban, Malaysia STUDY What are your favourite subjects at school? History, Music, English What languages do you speak? English, Malay, Chinese Why are you learning English? I want to travel, and English is very useful FAMILY How many people are there in your family? Five How many brothers or sisters do you have? One brother What does he/she do? Hes studying drama at university How old is he/she? 19 LIFESTYLE What do you like to do in your free time? I go out with my friends and watch TV What is your favourite programme on TV? Friends Do you like travelling? Yes How often do you travel? I go on holiday with my family twice a year Do you like sport? Yes What sport do you play? I play football How often do you play sport? About twice a week Do you have any ambitions? Yes, Id like to go to drama school and become an actress

Jenny Chan Jenny Chan is 16 and she comes from ____. She lives in Seremban. Her favourite subjects are English, History and Music. She can speak three _____ - English, Malay and Chinese. There are five people in her family. Shes got one brother, aged 19, who is studying ____ at university. In her free time, she loves ____ and watching TV. Her favourite programme is Friends. She plays football ____. In her future she would like to go to drama school and wants to be an ____.  




1. My sister often ____ (send) text messages to her friends.

a) is sending b) sends c) send

2. At the moment, I ____ (learn) to use a new computer program.

a) am learning b) learn c) learns

3. Where ____ you going when I met you last night?

a) did b) are c) were

4. When we came into the hall they _____ this problem.

a) discussed b) were discussing c) have discussed

5. By the time we arrived at the station, the train ______.

a) left b) had left c) has left

6. My sister phoned yesterday and she told me that she ______ a house.

a) had bought b) buys c) has bought

7. Jane is _____ than Kate.

a) taller b) tall c) the tallest

8. This is _____ restaurant in Barcelona.

a) more expensive b) the most expensive c) the expensive

9. I _________ this singer for ten years.

a) have liked b) have been liking c) likes

10. He _______ for two hours.

a) have waited b) has been waiting c) been waiting


Who knows you better, your family or your friends?

Richard Taylor
In our weekly test single people who are looking for a partner ask their mother and their best friend to help. Their mother chooses one partner and their best friend chooses another. The test is to see who can choose the best partner!

This weeks single man is Richard Taylor, 26 year-old musician from Southampton. His mother Meg chooses one girl, and his best friend Danny chooses another. Then Richard goes on a date with each girl. Which girl does he prefer? Who knows him better, his mother or his best friend? Who chooses the right girl for him?

I usually work in England but sometimes I work abroad too. When Im not working I like going to the cinema and eating in nice restaurants. Im not very sporty and I dont do any exercise, but at least I dont smoke.

I think Im open and friendly I get on well with most people but Im sometimes quite shy too. For example, I dont like going to parties. I prefer to meet friends individually or in small groups.

I like intelligent, funny women who make me laugh, and ideally who love music. Physically I prefer women with dark hair who are not taller than me. And I like women who are good listeners.

Im sure that my friend Danny knows me better than my family because we often talk about girlfriends and the problems we have. I dont usually talk to my family about that kind of thing. My mum always says that I look for the wrong kind of girl but thats what mothers always say!

A Who do you think knows you better, your family or your friends? Why?


: 2016-12-05; !; : 1026 |



, - , ; , - .
==> ...

497 - | 516 -

© 2015-2023 lektsii.org - -

: 0.011 .